top of page

Making off
Who am I - really?

My interest in portrait photography led me to the question of what makes a sophisticated portrait: the depiction of the inner essence of the person portrayed, or the individual visual language of the portrait photographer.

As a scientist - which I am - I made the following experiment: I studied the individual style of famous portrait photographers and tried self-portraits in their visual language. The approach may be a bit presumptuous, but taught me a lot about lighting, but even more about the different personal approach of each great master.

Astonishingly different images emerged, making me wonder: Is this me? Do the images show aspects of me to which I myself am blind or are they artificial projections resulting from the respective visual language?

I show in each case a characteristic picture of the mentioned photographer*, the unretouched and the final self-portrait.

*I beg your pardon for not indicating the source.

bottom of page

top of page

Making off
Wer bin ich – tatsächlich ?

Mein Interesse an Portraitfotografie führte mich zur Frage, was ein anspruchsvolles Portrait ausmacht: Die Darstellung des inneren Wesens der abgebildeten Person, oder die individuelle Bildsprache des Portraitphotographen.
Als Wissenschaftler – der ich nun mal bin – machte ich folgendes Experiment: Ich studierte den individuellen Stil berühmter Portraitphotographen und versuchte mich an Selbstportraits in ihrer Bildsprache. Der Ansatz mag etwas vermessen sein, aber hat mich viel über die Beleuchtung gelehrt, aber noch mehr über den unterschiedlichen persönlichen Ansatz jedes großen Meisters.
Es sind verblüffend unterschiedliche Aufnahmen entstanden, die mich stutzen lassen: Bin ich das? Zeigen die Bilder Aspekte von mir, für die ich selbst blind bin oder sind es künstliche Projektionen, die aus der jeweiligen Bildsprache resultieren?
 
Ich zeige jeweils ein charakteristisches Bild des genannten Photographen*, das unretuschierte und das finale Selbstportrait.
*Ich bitte um Verzeihung, dass ich die Quelle nicht angebe.

bottom of page