01_7221_Pile_VersBd_A3_Hochwasser_Eckart_Bartnik.jpg

FLOOD-SCULPTURES

Flood–sculptures

The bizarre sculptures of debris left behind by the river offered the only orientation in the midst of the chaos of the flood.

Like admonishing witnesses, the figures made of torn branches, torn out bushes, trees and man-made debris stood in the battered landscape. The Ahr Valley had been hit by an unprecedented flood on the night of July 15, 2021. 134 people died, no house near the Ahr was left unscathed, not one stone upon another.

During the cleanup, more abstruse structures resembling spontaneous installations emerged from the gathered junk and scrap. As if the catastrophe wanted to pave the way for a new beginning with its imaginative creations from the doomed world.

The photographic staging turns the flood sculptures into silent witnesses of restless times in which nature and civilization collide and become harbingers of the climate change that is also unfolding in Germany. Emerging from the synthesis of unleashed natural force and human belongings, the Flood Sculptures display a cruelly beautiful aesthetic in a seemingly dystopian landscape.

01_7221_Pile_VersBd_A3_Hochwasser_Eckart_Bartnik.jpg

FLUT-Skulpturen

Flut-Skulpturen

Die vom Fluss zurückgelassenen, bizarren Skulpturen aus Treibgut boten die einzige Orientierung inmitten des Chaos der Flut.

Wie mahnende Zeugen standen die aus abgerissenen Ästen, herausgerissenen Sträuchern, Bäumen und zivilisatorischem Treibgut verknäuelten Figuren in der geschundenen Landschaft. Das Ahrtal war in der Nacht zum 15. Juli 2021 von einer beispiellosen Flut heimgesucht worden. 134 Menschen starben, kein Haus in der Nähe der Ahr blieb unversehrt, kein Stein auf dem anderen.

Während der Aufräumarbeiten entstanden aus dem zusammengesammelten Müll und Schrott weitere abstruse Gebilde, die spontanen Installationen glichen.  Gleichsam so, als ob die Katastrophe dem Neuanfang mit ihren kreativen Schöpfungen aus der untergegangenen Welt einen Weg bereiten will.

Die fotografische Inszenierung macht die Flut-Skulpturen zu stillen Zeugen unruhiger Zeiten, in denen Natur und Zivilisation kollidieren und zu Vorboten des auch in Deutschland um sich greifenden Klimawandels werden. Entstanden aus der Synthese von entfesselter Naturgewalt und menschlichen Habseligkeiten zeigen die Flut-Skulpturen eine grausam-schöne Ästhetik in dystopisch anmutender Landschaft.