Stack of camp trailers

FLOOD (selected images)

FLOOD

It had been raining for days. Four days before the water level reached its dramatic peak, the European Flood Awareness System sent out the first warnings. These became more precise and at the same time more threatening. However, neither the responsible agencies nor the media reacted adequately.

In the end, the flood claimed more than 180 lives, left thousands of homes devastated, destroyed the infra-structure in the affected areas, and created enormous suffering. 

The picture that appeared in the Ahr Valley after the flood was bizarre. The approach over the plateaus gave no hint of the chaos that awaited one in the valley. The transition from the undamaged landscape to the boundless devastation was abrupt and beyond imagination: houses washed away, and empty window and door openings showed the force with which the flood had swept over the people and their belongings. Brown areas with upper edges marked the peak of the water - like written notes of the catastrophe.  People dragged buckets of muddied possessions and washed-up garbage out of their homes - shock and bewilder-ment written all over their faces.

In the midst of the chaos, the bizarre sculptures of flotsam pushed together by the flood offered a peculiar orientation. They rose into the sky like memorials. The sculptures made of torn branches, ripped out bushes, trees and the flotsam of civilization stood like witnesses to the catastrophe in the battered landscape. During the clean-up work, further bizarre formations emerged from trash and junk, resembling spontaneous installations. Just as if the catastrophe with its imaginative creations prepared a way for the new beginning.

The changes in the landscape and the bizarre legacies of the flood were captured on camera over a period of nine months. The photographs are silent witnesses to turbulent times in which nature and civilization increasingly collide. They document the climate change that is ever more manifest in Germany. Created from the synthesis of unleashed natural force and human belongings, the flood sculptures in particular show a cruelly beautiful aesthetic in a dystopian landscape.

 

FLUT (images in chronological order)

10-Remains-Eckart_Bartnik_edited.jpg

Stack of camp trailers

FLUT (selected images)

FLUT

Es hatte tagelang geregnet. Vier Tage bevor der Wasserstand seinen dramatischen Höchststand erreichte, verschickte das European Flood Awareness System erste Warnungen. Diese wurden von Stunde zu Stunde genauer und zugleich bedrohlicher. Allerdings reagierten weder die zuständigen Stellen noch die Medien angemessen darauf.

Die Flut forderte am Ende mehr als 180 Todesopfer, hinterließ Tausende verwüsteter Häuser, vernichtete die Infra-struktur in den betroffenen Gebieten und erzeugte ein enormes Leid. 

Das Bild, das sich nach der Flut im Ahrtal zeigte, war bizarr. Die Anfahrt über die Höhen ließ nichts von dem Chaos erahnen, das einen im Tal erwartete. Der Übergang von der unversehrten Landschaft zur grenzenlosen Verwüstung war abrupt und überstieg jede Vorstellungskraft: Weggespülte Häuser und leere Fenster- und Türöffnungen zeigten die Kraft, mit der die Flut über die Menschen und deren Hab und Gut hereingebrochen war. Braune Flächen mit distinkter Oberkante markierten den Höchststand des Wassers – wie niedergeschriebene Notizen der Katastrophe.  Die Menschen schleppten eimerweise verschlammten Besitz und angeschwemmten Müll aus den Häusern – der Schock und die Fassungslosigkeit standen ihnen ins Gesicht geschrieben.

Mitten im Chaos boten die von der Flut zusammengeschobenen, bizarren Skulpturen aus Treibgut eine eigentümliche Orientierung. Wie Mahnmale ragten sie in den Himmel. Die aus abgerissenen Ästen, herausgerissenen Sträuchern, Bäumen und zivilisatorischem Treibgut verknäuelten Figuren standen wie Zeugen der Katastrophe in der geschundenen Landschaft. Während der Aufräumarbeiten entstanden aus Müll und Schrott weitere skurrile Gebilde, die unwillkürlichen Installationen glichen. Gerade so, als ob die Katastrophe mit ihren kreativen Schöpfungen dem Neuanfang einen Weg bereitet.

Die Veränderungen der Landschaft und die bizarren Hinterlassenschaften der Flut wurden über neun Monate mit der Kamera festgehalten. Die Aufnahmen sind stille Zeugen unruhiger Zeiten, in denen Natur und Zivilisation zunehmend kollidieren. Sie dokumentieren den auch in Deutschland um sich greifenden Klimawandels. Entstanden aus der Synthese von entfesselter Naturgewalt und menschlichen Habseligkeiten zeigen vor allem die Flut-Skulpturen eine grausam-schöne Ästhetik in einer dystopisch anmutenden Landschaft.